TURBOMOLE Users Forum

Installation and usage of TURBOMOLE => Parallel Runs => Topic started by: janwahl on January 26, 2015, 10:14:03 am

Title: Overall Speed-Up using Ram-Disk
Post by: janwahl on January 26, 2015, 10:14:03 am
Hello,

i just wanted to ask, if someone has some experiences concerning the Speed-Up of Turbomole (or in general QM programs) using large Ram-Disks (128GB Ram, 128GB Ram-Disk). In theory, a Ram-Disk should speed up every I/O, but is I/O really the bottleneck for Qm calculations?


Thx

Jan
Title: Re: Overall Speed-Up using Ram-Disk
Post by: christof.haettig on October 01, 2015, 10:43:54 am
Did you try it? What was your experience?