Author Topic: Is the use of COSMO not possible for heavy elements?  (Read 3814 times)

pandaaka

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is the use of COSMO not possible for heavy elements?
« on: May 15, 2013, 01:55:20 pm »
Hi,

I am trying to using COSMO in some calculations involving a curium centre, but as I work through cosmoprep I hit a problem. When I accept the following default

 amat = amat.cosmo

I get the error

 setcosrad : unknown atom types!

It seems that parameters are only defined up to element 94 (Pu). Can anybody suggest a way that I can get COSMO to work in this case?

Thanks

corey.taylor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is the use of COSMO not possible for heavy elements?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2019, 02:46:31 pm »
Just like to bump this as I have had the same problem. This post is from some time ago, is it still the case that COSMO parameters are only available up to Pu?

uwe

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 457
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is the use of COSMO not possible for heavy elements?
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2019, 04:42:01 pm »
Hi,

the radii for individual elements can be defined in the control file in the $cosmo_atoms section. If you have an element which has no default radius, it can be defined there.

Regards,
Uwe

corey.taylor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is the use of COSMO not possible for heavy elements?
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2019, 04:54:30 pm »
Great cheers, will do that!