Author Topic: parallel on two processors?  (Read 6438 times)

resofidentity

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: +0/-0
parallel on two processors?
« on: January 18, 2007, 09:31:30 am »
Hello,

is it possible two run TM efficiently in parallel on a dual core processor?


Marek Sierka

  • Developers
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Sierkalab
Re: parallel on two processors?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2007, 09:49:56 am »
Hello,

Did you have any problems with that?
I think it should work exactly the same way as running parallel T-MOLE on two
separate processors.

mas

resofidentity

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: parallel on two processors?
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2007, 11:42:51 am »
Yes, and I thought, that this is the problem. Since there has to be one process(or?) which
controlls the whole calculation. So having 2 processors is not of great use - I heared?! The question
is, if it is reasonable to buy dual core - single board computers for using TM in parallel.

 

Marek Sierka

  • Developers
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Sierkalab
Re: parallel on two processors?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2007, 12:20:20 pm »
The one master process just divides tasks between slave processes and
virtually does not use any resources. It can be run on the same node/processor
as any slave process that really does the job. So, in other words, when you have
machine with 2 processors your run 3 T-MOLE processes but one of them does not
use any CPU. Of course, if you naive run just 2 processes then you have 1 master
(that does no calculations, just task division) and 1 slave process that does the
calculations => you don't gain anything!
As far as dual core processors are concerned I was told by our local experts that
they are as fast as two separate single core processors.

mas